[Part 1] Making an Online Game with Ruby

I’ve decided to make an online game with Ruby, yay for masochism! I mean, yay for challenges!

Lets break it down:

  • A simple multiplayer dungeon crawler
  • I will use Ruby, as it’s my favorite language, and this blog happens to be about Ruby, imagine that!
  • I will use Rubygame as my game dev library
  • For simplicity, I will use an HTTP server and sinatra as my web framework to help make things easier
  • I’ll be talking about my development experiences here on rubygamedev

I’ve got some code written, which I’ll throw on github sometime soon. It’s not yet a game, so the jury’s still out on whether or not it’ll be fun…

~ by Tyler Church on March 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “[Part 1] Making an Online Game with Ruby”

  1. [...] [Part 2] Making an Online Game with Ruby A lot has gone on with ROG since I originally posted about it: [...]

  2. [...] Making an Online Game with Ruby [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

