Lessons Learned: Don’t Be Stubborn, Don’t reinvent the wheel

Hello All!

I’m a ways into my quest to learn OpenGL. I hit a particular snag when I started learning about textures. Let me explain: The tutorial I’m following had its own function to load in OpenGL textures, the problem was that, try as I might, I couldn’t write my own to do the same thing (oh the joys of a C++ tutorial when your using Ruby). I kept trying for days and days, and I couldn’t get it to work.

All this time I had known from a google search that SDL could load textures. I was stubborn wanting to try and do it myself (even after the 50th fail), I probably shouldn’t have tried to reinvent the wheel and just wen’t with loading textures through SDL

Until next time…

~ by Tyler Church on November 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
