Lesson Learned: There is Always a Simple Solution

As I was working on my game Block Bounce, I ran into many problems that I couldn’t wrap my head around. The solutions started off very complex, spanning many lines. These complex solutions would often fail, or only half work. As it turns out, every single time I had to do something like this, I could always find a simpler solution later on (that worked consistently too!).

Here are my tips for getting the simplest solution:

  • If your implementing an effect, try faking it. Even though it may not be implemented in complete realism, it still looks just fine
  • Approach the problem from as many angles as possible.
  • Take a break. Sometimes just walking away, or just leaning back and closing your eyes can help you solve the problem faster.
  • Never develop tired. You can’t think completely clearly and obvious solutions always seem to evade when you are tired.
~ by Tyler Church on April 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
