Get a Whiteboard

Of all things a developer should get, a whiteboard is almost never on their shopping list. It usually looks more like:

  1. 16-core processor
  2. latest generation video card
  3. uber-awesome text editor
  4. 1337 debugger
  5. …and the list goes on

When I think a whiteboard should be #1! Why would you ever want a white board? White boards make design easier, you can sketch, write plot, stat lists, and erase anything easily. Whiteboards also make ye olde collaboration easier. I also find that whiteboards make it easy to visualize 2D math problems.

The only downside its you can’t save whiteboard stuff in a notebook, like you would be able to do with paper. You can, however, take a picture of the whiteboard, save it to your computer, then use OCR software if you want to be able to search the text.

These are my thoughts, what do you think? Should every developer or designer have a whiteboard?

~ by Tyler Church on July 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “Get a Whiteboard”

  1. Hey Tyler,

    So you are into Ruby gamedev huh? šŸ™‚
    I’m diving into it too. But I’m doing it with Gosu.

    Maybe we can share some info, tips, advice on the subject?
    I’ve got a Tetris clone, but done the comments in Spanish only.

    I don’t know if you would like to feature other Ruby gamedev projecs on your blog (it would be cool).
    If you are interested I could translate it to English.
    http://lobotuerto.com/blog/2009/07/13/metris-mi-clon-de-tetris-en-ruby-y-gosu/

    Right now I’m working on a Missile Command clone. After that is done, I think I’m going for a PacMan or Gauntlet clone.

    I’m also interested in a pure Ruby gamedev blog, my current blog is about anything right now, and I could use the focus on one subject.

    What do you think? šŸ™‚

    • Glad to see another person making games with Ruby! As far as sharing tips goes… I don’t really know too many, but I plan on posting what I learn to this blog.

      I like your tetris clone, and I can feature it if you want me to.

      It sounds like your going to be making a lot of great games, so I’ll keep an eye on your blog šŸ™‚

  2. And yeah, white boards are pretty handy. As are a pencil and a notebook by your side. šŸ™‚

    I tend to use more the pencil & notebook approach, because I can carry them to wherever I go.

Leave a Reply

 
