Lesson Learned: Never Trust Your Engine

I announced earlier that I was going to make a tower defense game. And if you’ve been able to figure it out by the lack of announcements, I haven’t made it. But what I have made is a quite wonderful (imo) game engine/back-end for it.

But as I still haven’t come up with a satisfactory design for Ruby Tower Defense, the engine was wonderful, but of no use. So, in an odd spurt of enthusiasm, I decided to write Block Bounce again in less time, less lines, and less confusion, using this engine. And in doing so I discovered some hard-to-track-down bugs. All of these bugs happened to be in the engine…Making it very frustrating when you want to make a game, but have to fix a game engine while you’re at it.

So what I took away from this was, if your going to use a game engine, use someone else’s, because you can leave it up to them to focus on the engine, while you focus on your game. And if you must use your own, never trust it, for it will betray you as soon as you turn your back.

P.S. If your curious, I never did finish with that rendition of Block Bounce, but I did have a bit more than the core gameplay and menu system in about 250 lines (original has about 650)

~ by Tyler Church on July 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
