Block Bounce on Gentoo Linux

My game Block Bounce! running on Gentoo Linux

My game Block Bounce! running on Gentoo Linux

I installed Gentoo Linux, since I heard it was a good way to learn how Linux works (or at the very least, how the install process works).

Everything went pretty smoothly, but there was one bad thing: I compiled EVERYTHING, no binary packages for me! I had no real hardware to install Gentoo on, so I was doing this in a virtual machine. Compilation is slow enough, but compiling everything from the kernel to Xorg to SDL on a VM takes a very, veeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyy long time!

After everything had compiled, I was staring at the GNOME desktop thinking “What now?”And then I decided I would try to get Block Bounce running! Everything installed so easily, I almost felt a little disappointed… But I was happy when I saw my game load up, and I could start playing!

Oh yeah: I wrote a rubygame installation guide for Gentoo!

~ by Tyler Church on September 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
