Coming Clean

Ok, it’s time for me to come clean about my game development. I love making games, but I keep disappointing myself. So far I’ve only liked two games that I’ve made: To The Exit! and To The Exit… Again!. And now I think I know why.

On both I kept my focus on making it fun. On both I kept development time short. They weren’t grand scale mega-games. And even though they aren’t the greatest games ever, and as much as I may like trying to write relative mega-games, it doesn’t matter if they’re not fun to play.

So it boils down to three things: Fun. Time. Scale.

secret_to_good_games = { Fun => :high, Time => :short, Scale => :small }

I like those simple games, and that’s all I care about.

I keep focusing on crap systems that I enjoy writing, but get me no where.

And rarely have I focused on getting to the fun ASAP.

And I’m done. Hopefully.

Hopefully I can snap myself out of it.

We’ll see, we’ll see.

I’ll keep ya’ posted.

~ by Tyler Church on January 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
